UPDATE: Gov. Hutchinson declares 9 additional counties as disaster areas; 21 total

Update: Tuesday, December 29 5:40 PM

LITTLE ROCK – Governor Asa Hutchinson has issued disaster declarations for nine additional counties. These counties include: Baxter, Chicot, Crawford, Jackson, Jefferson, Little River, Mario, Montgomery and Sebastian.

As damage assessments continue, additional counties may be added.


Original Story: December 28 5:32 PM

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – Governor Asa Hutchinson has declared 12 Arkansas counties disaster areas following severe storms over the weekend that caused heavy flooding and damage throughout the state.

These counties at this time are: Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Drew, Franklin, Logan, Madison, Ouachita, Perry, Polk, Searcy and Washington.

The National Weather Service has confirmed two tornadoes touched down during Sunday’s storms. The first touched down in Calhoun County and travelled 5.8 miles, ending in Bearden, in Ouachita county. The other traveled 5.6 miles west of Hampton, also in Calhoun County.

Both tornadoes were rated E-1, with winds of up to 110 miles per hour. No injuries were reported due to either incident.

Parts of the state received nearly 8 inches of rain in a 48 hour period.

According to the National Weather Service, flooding continues to be a major concern as moderate to major flooding is expected along most tributaries.


AnneDella Hines


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *