UATV and Alumni Win Big Over Weekend

UATV and Alumni Students of the Walter J. Lemke Department of Journalism won big this past weekend at the South Central Broadcasting Society’s Regional Awards Ceremony and the Mid-American Emmys.

Student news producers Sarah Brown, Hayley Noga, and Alyson Lefler took home the Grand Prize for their Tuesday night 9 P.M. newscast that aired on UATV. The newscast features student produced stories about the deadly tornadoes that affected Central Arkansas in the spring of 2014.

U of A Alum, and May graduate, Mallory Jordan received the Grand Prize for Hard News/Spot News for her story on how winter weather affects working students when the university closes. Jordan is now a general assignment reporter for KAIT-TV in Jonesboro, AR.

Other winners from the SCBS conference include UATV News anchors Krystle Sherrell and Jacob Pinter. Both received Finalist Awards in the TV Talent category.

Three Lemke graduates were honored with prestigious Mid-American Emmy Awards.

Jadiann Thompson received two Emmys, one for Best On-Camera Talent/Anchor, and the second for Best News Report. Thompson works as a news anchor and general assignment reporter for KSHB, the NBC-TV affiliate in Kansas City, MO.

Jehan Sheikh was part of the winning newscast team for coverage of the Hailey Owens tragedy. Sheikh is a reporter for KYTV in Springfield, MO.

Former student Brad Reed and Lemke Graduate Ben Goodwin were honored with an Emmy for their news report that aired on KFTA, the Fox affiliate in Fayetteville.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *