Powell, Fortson Collect SEC Individual Awards

John Pelphrey and the basketball Hogs might not have much to be happy about after losing five straight games to end the season for the first time in program history. But with the announcement of the SEC individual awards today, some Hogs have to be at least a little bit happy.

Marshawn Powell, who has had a stellar first year in the SEC, made the all-freshman team as determined by the league coaches. Powell is leading the team in rebounds with an average of 6.7 a game. He also chips in 15.1 points per game on average, which is third best for the Hogs this year.

Courtney Fortson didn’t see action in the Hogs lackluster non-conference schedule because of suspension, but that didn’t stop the point guard from making the all-SEC second team. Fortson led the team with an average 18.1 points a game, even though he has only played 576 minutes this year.

The Arkansas Razorbacks will take on the Georgia Bulldogs in the first round of the SEC Tournament Thursday at 8:45 on the SEC Network.

The rest of the top awards from the league went to:

Coach of the Year- Kevin Stallings (Vanderbilt)
Player of the Year- John Wall (Kentucky)
Freshman of the Year- Demarcus Cousins (Kentucky)
Defensive Player of the Year- Jarvis Varnado (Mississippi State)
Sixth Man of the Year- John Jenkins (Vanderbilt)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *